## DDA Annual Report – 2020

Kat Volk, Chair (Carl Murray, outgoing Chair); Maryame El Moutamid, Secretary

- The membership of the DDA, as of July 23, 2020, is 342: 185 Full Members, 17 Affiliate Members (including 3 international affiliates), 65 Emeritus Members, 37 Graduate Student Members, 25 Undergraduate Student Members, 12 Amateur Members, and 1 Educator Affiliate Member. Division membership in 2019 stood at 359.
- II. **Quarterly Committee meetings:** The DDA Committee continued to meet on a quarterly basis this year, using Skype for all meetings.
- III. Elections: The 2020 DDA Election was held entirely online through the AAS. In 2019, the membership voted to change in the DDA bylaws to increase the term length of Committee members to three years (from two years) and to elect two new members per year (rather than three). To maintain the size of the Committee during the transition to members elected entirely under the new bylaws, the Committee voted to extend the term of one Committee member (originally elected to serve from 2018-2020) by one year. The Committee expects to make one more similar vote in 2021 to extend the term of two Committee members originally elected to serve from 2019-2021.

# Continuing Officers (all new terms began July 1st, 2020):

CHAIR (2020-2021): Kat Volk (LPL, U. Arizona) kvolk@lpl.arizona.edu

PAST CHAIR (2020-2021): Carl Murray (Queen Mary College, London) c.d.murray@qmul.ac.uk

SECRETARY (2019-2022): Maryame El Moutamid (Cornell) maryame@astro.cornell.edu

TREASURER (2019-2021): Joseph Spitale (Planetary Science Institute) jnspitale@psi.edu

COMMITTEE (2019-2021):

Althea Moorhead (NASA Marshall) althea.moorhead@nasa.gov

Darin Ragozzine (Brigham Young) darin\_ragozzine@byu.edu Gongji Li (Georgia Tech) gongjie.li@physics.gatech.edu

COMMITTEE (2020-2021; 1 year term extension due to change in bylaws): Smadar Naoz (U. California, Los Angeles) snaoz@astro.ucla.edu

#### New Officers:

VICE CHAIR (2020-2021): Ruth Murray-Clay (U. California, Santa Cruz) rmc@ucsc.edu

#### New Committee Members: (2020-2023):

Juliette Becker (Caltech) jbecker@caltech.edu Robyn E. Sanderson (UPenn) robynes@sas.upenn.edu

#### **Retiring Officers**:

PAST CHAIR (2017-2018): Seth Jacobson (Michigan State University) seth@msu.edu

#### COMMITTEE (2018-2020)

Sarah Morrison (Penn State) smorrison@psu.edu Kathryne Daniel (Bryn Mawr) kjdaniel@brynmawr.edu

#### IV. Meetings

The 2020 DDA meeting was originally scheduled to be held from August 2–6, 2020 in Ithaca, NY. Due to Covid-19, the in-person meeting had to be cancelled and we instead scheduled a virtual DDA Meeting from August 3-7, 2020.

The revenue (as of August 5, 2020) is \$12,130 from registration fees, and expenses are approximately \$8,656 (doesn't yet include credit card fees). We planned to apply surpluses from the 2019 meeting to cover invited speaker costs, to keep registration fees low, and to offer registration grants (we awarded ~30 student registration grants and 2 non-student registration grants). Several of the 2020 DPS virtual meeting organizers were given complimentary registration so they could test out the AAS-provided meeting platform and generally observe our meeting format.

The meeting has 101 abstracts for talks and posters. The total number of registrations is 165, including 74 students/junior members. There are three special sessions.



Distribution of institutions for DDA 2020 Virtual meeting registrants:

**Future Meetings**: There is no decision yet for the 2021 meeting given the ever-changing situation regarding travel and gatherings. The DDA Committee plans to meet in September 2020 to discuss this further.

# V. DDA Prizes

### 2020 Brouwer Award:

The Brouwer prize committee is meeting in early August 2020 to recommend a prize winner to the DDA Committee. The process was delayed due to the current difficult circumstances and some re-shuffling of the committee membership.

### 2020 Vera Rubin Prize:

The Rubin prize committee has made a recommendation, and the DDA Committee has voted to approve the prize winner.

Both prize winners will be announced in late August via email and a press release

### Duncombe Prize:

The Raynor Duncombe Prize is a travel stipend awarded each year to up to four graduate students to enable them to attend the DDA meeting and give a talk. The following students were selected:

Malena Rice (Yale University), Yubo Su (Cornell University), Jorge Antonio Pérez-Hernández (UNAM), and Emma Leib (CU Boulder).

These four students will be honored at the 2020 Virtual DDA Meeting, where they will give talks on their research. In lieu of a travel stipend for the 2020 virtual meeting, these students will receive a travel stipend for the next in-person DDA meeting.

### VI. Committee Appointments:

Below we list the new members of various committees for and their terms of appointment. (Full committee membership lists are on the DDA website)

### Brouwer Award Selection Committee:

2020-2021: Elisa Quintana (NASA Goddard) *Chair*2020-2021: Kat Volk (LPL, U. Arizona) (*ex officio*)
2020-2021: Fred Rasio (past recipient member)
2020-2022: Benoît Noyelles (University of Franche-Comté) (filling out a previous member's term)
2020-2023: Marina Brozovic (JPL)

### Rubin Prize Selection Committee:

2020-2021: Heidi Newberg (RPI) *Chair* 2020-2021: Ruth Murray-Clay (UC Santa Cruz) (*ex officio*) 2020-2021: Jo Bovy (Past recipient member) 2020-2023: Apostolos Christou (Armagh Observatory)

### **Duncombe Prize Selection Committee:**

2020-2021: Dan Tamayo (Princeton University) *Chair* 2020-2023: Maria Tiongco (CU, Boulder)

# Nominating Committee:

2020-2021: Rebecca Harbison (University of Nebraska) *Chair* 2020-2023: Rosemary Wyse (JHU).

# Archives Committee:

TBD