

DDA Annual Report - 2016

Kelly Holley-Bockelmann, Chair; Sethanne Howard, Secretary

I. Membership

The membership of the DDA, as of May 22, 2016, was 335, of whom 25 are affiliate members, 53 emeritus, 32 junior, 8 international affiliates, and 30 associate members. Division membership in 2015 stood at 336.

II. Quarterly Committee meetings

The DDA Committee continued to meet on a quarterly basis this year, using Skype for all meetings except the one held in conjunction with the annual meeting.

III. Elections

The 2016 DDA Election was held entirely online. With the assistance of the AAS IT office, the slate was posted on the AAS website, along with candidates' curricula vitæ. By the time the voting closed, 113 ballots had been cast, for a participation rate of 34%. The results were as follows:

New Officers (with all new terms beginning July 1st, 2016):

CHAIR (2016-2017) Monica Valluri (Univ. of Michigan) <u>mvalluri@umich.edu</u>

VICE CHAIR (2016-2017) Luke Dones (Southwest Research Institute) <u>luke@boulder.swri.edu</u>

PAST CHAIR (2016-2017) Kelly Holley-Bockelmann (Vanderbilt) <u>k.holly@vanderbilt.edu</u>

COMMITTEE (2016-2018)

Daniel Tamayo (Univ. of Toronto) <u>d.tamayo@utoronto.ca</u> Konstantin Batygin (Caltech) <u>kbatygin@gps.caltech.edu</u> Maryame El Moutamid (Cornell Univ.) <u>maryame@astro.cornell.edu</u>

Continuing Officers:

COMMITTEE (2015-2017)

Christa Van Laerhoven (Univ. of Toronto) <u>cvl@cita.utoronto.ca</u> Joseph Spitale (Planetary Science Institute) <u>jnspitale@psi.edu</u> Seth Jacobson (Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur) <u>seth.jacobson@oca.eu</u> SECRETARY (2014-2017) Sethanne Howard (USNO, retired) <u>sethanneh@msn.com</u>

TREASURER (2015-2018) Alice Monet (USNO, retired) <u>alicemonet@gmail.com</u>

Retiring Officers:

PAST CHAIR (2015-2016) Fred Adams (Univ. of Michigan) <u>fca@umich.edu</u>

```
COMMITTEE (2014-2016)
```

Rachel Kuzio de Naray (Georgia State Univ.) <u>kuzio@chara.gsu.edu</u> Paul Chodas (JPL) <u>paul.chodas@jpl.nasa.gov</u> Matthew Tiscareno (SETI Insitute) <u>matt@seti.org</u>

IV. Meetings

The 2016 DDA meeting was held from May 22-26 at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. The LOC was chaired by Kelly Holley-Bockelmann (Vanderbilt) and Monica Valluri chaired the SOC. A total of 74 members attended the meeting, including 50 men, 24 women, and 15 non-US scientists.

The program included invited talks by Gurtina Besla (U. Arizona), Sebastien Lepine (Georgia State U.), Siegfried Eggl (Obs. de Pairs) Henrik Latter (Cambridge), Alice Quillen (U. of Rochester), and Sarah Loebman (U. Michigan). The Brouwer Award Lecture was given by Sylvio Ferraz-Mello (University of Sao Paulo), and Duncombe Prize talks were presented by Maria Tiongco (Indiana Univ.), Eva Bodman (Univ. of Rochester), and Indranil Banik (Univ. of St. Andrews).

Business Meeting: The members voted to raise annual dues to \$20 for Regular Members and \$25 for Affiliate Members, while keeping dues unchanged for Student and Emeritus Members.

Committee Meeting: The DDA Committee voted to constitute a new "Awards Review Committee" to formulate the details of a new DDA Early Career Award and to review the guidelines for the awards selection committee. Members of this committee will be selected by June 1, 2016.

Future Meetings: 2017 London, England – hosted by Craig Agnor and Carl Murray (Queen Mary College, University of London)

M. Tiscareno and M. Cuk have tentatively proposed to host the 2018 DDA meeting in San Jose, CA.

V. DDA Prizes

2016 Brouwer Award

The Division on Dynamical Astronomy is delighted to announce the 2016 recipient of the Brouwer Award is Professor Rosemary F. G. Wyse of Johns Hopkins University.

Professor Wyse's work has played a fundamental role in advancing our understanding of the structure, dynamics, and formation history of the Milky Way and its satellites. Her work combines theory and observations. She has been a leading proponent of the view that since low mass stars live for a Hubble time, they can serve as a fossil record within our own Galaxy of the conditions in the early lives of galaxies, thereby complementing highredshift studies. She was one of the major early advocates of wide-field multi-object spectroscopic surveys of stars in the Milky Way and other galaxies and is one of the leaders of RAVE (RAdial Velocity Experiment.)



Professor Wyse developed the first model that formed a thick disk as a natural consequence of the dynamical evolution of disk galaxies and was among the first to recognize the importance of the properties of the Galactic thick disk in constraining the early evolution and merging history of the Milky Way. She has also made significant contributions to the study of dark-matter dominated dwarf spheroidal

In addition to her wide reaching and influential research, she has been an extraordinary mentor and role model. Wyse is also recognized by this award for her service to the astronomy community which includes the presidency of the Aspen Center for Physics (2010-2013) and of IAU Commission 33, vice-presidency of IAU Division VII, and memberships in the AURA Observatories Council, AAS Publication Board, and the Board of Reviewing Editors of Science Magazine.

Duncombe Prizes

The following graduate students were selected to win the Duncombe Prizes for student research, and presented their work at the 2016 DDA annual meeting:

Maria Tiongco (Indiana University) Eva Bodman (University of Rochester) Indranil Banik (University of St. Andrews)

VI. Committee Appointments:

Brouwer Award Selection Committee:

Ruth Murray-Clay (UC Santa Barbara) *Chair* Sylvio Ferraz Mello (U. Sao Paulo) (new) Juntai Shen (Shanghai Astronomical Obs.) (new) Jack Lissauer (NASA/Ames) (new) Monica Valluri (University of Michigan) (new) (*ex officio*)

Duncombe Prize Committee:

Kevin Walsh (Southwest Research Institute) *Chair* Katherine Deck (California Institute of Technology) Matthew Walker (Carnegie Mellon) (new)

Nominating Committee:

Benoît Noyelles (U. Namur) *Chair* Hal Levison (Southwest Research Institute) Alice Quillen (University of Rochester) (new)

Archives Committee:

James Hilton (US Naval Observatory) Chair

Award Review Committee:

Membership to be established in the near future.