

DDA Annual Report - 2019

Seth Jacobson, Chair; Sethanne Howard, Secretary

I. Membership

The membership of the DDA, as of June 12, 2019, is 359: 21 DDA affiliate only, 1 Amateur, 66 Emeritus, 5 International affiliates, 19 Undergraduates, 55 Graduate students, and 192 Full Members. Division membership in 2018 stood at 336.

We lost two much appreciated and valued Brouwer awardees this year:.

Andrea Milani (1948 – 2018) and Bill Ward (1944 – 2018)



II. Quarterly Committee meetings

The DDA Committee continued to meet on a quarterly basis this year, using Skype for all meetings except the one held in conjunction with the annual meeting.

III. Elections

The 2019 DDA Election was held entirely online through the AAS.

Continuing Officers (with all new terms beginning July 1st, 2019):

CHAIR (2019-2020):

Carl Murray (Queen Mary College, London) <u>c.d.murray@qmul.ac.uk</u> PAST CHAIR: (2019-2020)

Seth Jacobson (Northwestern) <u>sethajacobson@earth.northwestern.edu</u> TREASURER (2019-2021)

Joseph Spitale (Lunar and Planetary Lab) spitale@lpl.arizona.edu

COMMITTEE (2019-2021)

Smadar Naoz (U. California, Los Angeles) snaoz@astro.ucla.edu Sarah Morrison (Penn State) smorrison@psu.edu Kathryne Daniel (Bryn Mawr) kjdaniel@brynmawr.edu

New Officers:

VICE CHAIR (2019-2020)

Kat Volk (LPL, U. Arizona) kvolk@lpl.arizona.edu

SECRETARY (2019-2022)

Maryame El Moutamid (Cornell) maryame@astro.cornell.edu

New Committee Members: (2019-2021)

Althea Moorhead (NASA Marshall) <u>althea.moorhead@nasa.gov</u> Darin Ragozzine (Brigham Young) <u>darin ragozzine@byu.edu</u> Gongji Li (Georgia Tech) <u>gongjie.li@physics.gatech.edu</u>

Retiring Officers:

PAST CHAIR (2017-2018)

Luke Dones (Southwest Research Institute) luke@boulder.swri.edu

COMMITTEE (2016-2018)

Konstantin Batygin (Caltech) kbatygin@gps.caltech.edu
Maryame El Moutamid (Cornell Univ.) maryame@astro.cornell.edu
Ann-Marie Madigan (U. Colorado) annmarie.madigan@colorado.edu

By-laws changes

The DDA voted in four major changes to the DDA bylaws.

- 1. Update DDA Student Membership Classes to match those of the AAS, which splits student membership into undergraduate and graduate membership.
- 2. Extend the term length for DDA Committee members from two years to three years and elect two new Committee members each year instead of three.
- 3. Change the number of required candidates for each Committee vacancy from two candidates to 1.5 candidates (rounded up). This means having a minimum of three candidates for two Committee vacancies every year.
- 4. Update the schedule and procedure for DDA elections by moving to a fixed schedule rather than a schedule relative to the annual DDA meeting and eliminating the option of paper ballots submitted by mail.
 - a. Feb. 1: nominations of candidates from the Nominating Committee are due.
 - b. Feb. 8: Secretary announces the candidates to the membership.
 - c. Feb. 22: nominations of additional candidates via petition of at least twelve members of the DDA are due.
 - d. Mar. 1: The ballot (including candidates' bios and position statements) shall be provided to the membership and opened for voting via the AAS website.
 - e. Mar. 15: the voting shall be closed.
 - f. Mar. 22: Election results shall be provided to the membership by the Secretary.

IV. Meetings

The 2019 DDA meeting was held from June 15 - 19. 2019 in Boulder, Colorado. The revenue = \$35,756.81, expenses were 23,201.50 with a net revenue off \$12,555.33.

There were 112 registrations: 50 members10 non-members, and 53 student/emeritus. There were three special sessions, one in honor of Bill Ward.

Future Meetings: There is no site yet for the 2020 meeting.

V. DDA Prizes

2019 Brouwer Award

Fred Rasio (Northwestern University) received the 2019 Brouwer Award and is invited to present a lecture at the 2020 DDA meeting.

2019 Vera Rubin Prize

Jo Bovy (University of Toronto) received the 2019 Rubin Prize and is invited to

present a lecture at the 2020 DDA meeting.

VI. Duncombe Prize:

The Raynor Duncombe Prize is a travel stipend awarded each year to up to four graduate students to enable them to attend the DDA meeting and give a talk. The following students were selected:

Yuxi Lu (U. Maryland) Darryl Seligman (Yale) Bonan Pu (Cornell) Ekta Patel (U. Arizona)

These four students were honored at the DDA Meeting in Boulder, where they gave talks on their research and received travel support to attend the meeting.

VII. Committee Appointments:

Below we list the members of various committees for 2019-2020.

Brouwer Award Selection Committee:

Laura Watkins (Space Telescope Science Institute) *Chair* Elisa Quintana (NASA Goddard) Nader Haghighipour (Hawaii) C. D. Murray (Queen Mary College, London) (*ex officio*)

Rubin Prize Selection Committee:

Oleg Gnedin (University of Michigan) *Chair* Heidi Newberg (RPI) Katherine Johnston (Columbia) Kat Volk (LPL, U. Arizona) (*ex officio*)

Duncombe Prize Selection Committee:

Katherine Kretke (Southwest Research Institute) *Chair* Dan Tamayo (Princeton University) Cristobal Petrovich (University of Toronto)

Nominating Committee:

Eric Ford (Pennsylvania State University) *Chair* Rebecca Harbison (University of Nebraska) Matija Cuk (SETI)

Archives Committee:

TBD