DDA Annual Report - 2014



Matija Cuk, Chair; Alice K. B. Monet, Secretary

I. Membership

The membership of the DDA, as of May 9th, 2014 was 314, of whom 28 are affiliate members, 50 are emeritus, 33 are junior, and 24 are associate members. Division membership in 2013 stood at 324. This reduction in the number of members may reflect the improved tracking of dues payment by the AAS, wherein members are dropped from the roster by spring if annual dues are not paid by the end of the previous year.

DDA members were saddened this year by the loss of one of our "founding fathers" – Dr. Raynor Duncombe, who died on the morning of July 12, 2013, in Austin, Texas.

Among his many wonderful qualities, Ray was always extremely supportive of students. In recognition, the DDA Committee decided to rename the student stipend awards in his honor. These will be known henceforth as the Duncombe Prizes.



II. Quarterly Committee meetings

The DDA Committee continued to meet on a quarterly basis this year, using Skype for all meetings except the one held in conjunction with the annual meeting.

III. Elections

The 2014 DDA Election was the first to be held entirely online. With the assistance of the AAS IT office, the slate was posted on the AAS website, along with candidates' curricula vitæ. Two weeks later, the online ballot was made available, and voting began. By the time the voting closed, 107 ballots had been cast, for a participation rate of 30%. The results were as follows:

New Officers (with all new terms beginning July 1st, 2014):

CHAIR (2014-2015)
Fred Adams (University of Michigan) < fca@umich.edu>

VICE CHAIR (2014-2015)

Kelly Holley-Bockelmann (Vanderbilt) <k.holly@vanderbilt.edu>

SECRETARY (2014-2017)

Sethanne Howard (USNO, retired) < sethanneh@msn.com>

PAST CHAIR (2014-2015)

Matija Cuk (SETI) < mcuk@seti.org>

COMMITTEE (2014-2016)

Rachel Kuzio de Naray (CHARA) < kuzio@chara.gsu.edu>

Paul Chodas (JPL) paul.chodas@jpl.nasa.gov>

Matthew Tiscareno (Cornell) < matthewt@astro.cornell.edu>

Continuing Officers:

TREASURER (2013-2016)

William I. Newman (UCLA) < win@ucla.edu >

COMMITTEE (2013-2015)

Joe Hahn (Space Science Institute) < <u>jhahn@spacescience.org</u>>
Katherine Kretke (Southwest Research Institute) < <u>kretke@boulder.swri.edu</u>>

Marc Murison (USNO Flagstaff) < murison@nofs.navv.mil>

Retiring Officers:

SECRETARY (2011-2014)

Alice Monet (USNO, retired) < alicemonet@gmail.com >

COMMITTEE (2012-2014)

Eugene Fahnestock (IPL) <efahnestock@charter.net>

Wayne Hayes (UC Irvine) < wayne@ics.uci.edu>

Michele Trenti (Institute of Astronomy, Cambridge, UK)

<trenti@ast.cam.ac.uk>

IV. Meetings

2014 DDA meeting was held from April 28 to May 1 at the College of Physicians in Philadelphia, PA. The LOC was chaired by Hal Levison (SwRI). About 70 members attended the meeting, which included invited talks by Dimitri Veras (Warwick), Kaitlin Kratter (Arizona), Monica Valluri (Michigan), Sourav Chatterjee (Florida) and Steve McMillan (Drexell), as well as the Brouwer Award lecture by Joseph Burns (Cornell). Duncombe Prize winners were Melissa Dykhuis (Arizona), Natalia Storch (Cornell) and Nicholas Attree (Queen Mary, London).

Future Meetings:

2015: Pasadena, CA, hosted by JPL.

2016: Wilmington, NC or Nashville, TN – TBD.

V. 2015 Brouwer Award Winner: Professor Douglas N. C. Lin, UCSC, Lick Observatory



VI. Committee Appointments:

Brouwer Award Selection Committee:

Jack Wisdom (MIT), Chair Man Hoi Lee (Hong Kong U.) Ruth Murray-Clay (CfA) (new)

Duncombe Prize Committee:

Alice Quillen (Rochester), *Chair*Dave Minton (Purdue)
Kevin Walsh (SwRI) (new)

Nominating Committee:

Phil Nicholson (Cornell), *Chair* Stacy McGaugh (CWRU) Benoit Noyelles (U. Namur) (new)