2011 Report of DDA Secretary

Alice K. B. Monet Friends of Arlington's David M. Brown Planetarium

10 April 2011

1. 2011 Election Results:

The number of ballots received was 98, all but one via email. This represents approximately 1/3 of the total membership of the Division. The current and former DDA Secretaries counted the ballots independently.

New Officers (terms begin 1 July 2011):

VICE CHAIR (2011-2012) Douglass P. Hamilton (Univ. of Maryland)

COMMITTEE (2011-2013) Ruth Murray-Clay (Harvard CfA)

Matt Hedman (Cornell Univ.) Jerry Sellwood (Rutgers Univ.)

PAST CHAIR (2011-2012)

Alice Quillen (Univ. of Rochester)

Continuing Officers:

SECRETARY (2009-2012) Alice Monet (Friends of Arlington's

D.M.B. Planetarium)

TREASURER (2009-2012) William I. Newman (UCLA)

COMMITTEE (2010-2012)

Steve Chesley (IPL)

Martin Duncan (Queen's University) Nader Haghighipour (Univ. of Hawaii IfA)

Retiring Officers:

Kelly Holley-Bockelmann (Vanderbilt Univ.)

Marc A. Murison (USNO Flagstaff Station) Monica Valluri (Univ. of Michigan)

2. DDA Membership 2010-2011

Membership: 2010: 275 (AAS list)

2011: 329 (DDA list), 301 (AAS list)

Deceased: Alan Fiala May 26, 2010

Vladimir Arnold June 2, 2010 John Huchra October 8, 2010 Brian Marsden November 18, 2010

Jim Elliott March 2, 2011 Mike Lecar March 2, 2011