You are here

2016 Brouwer Award Winner - Rosemary F. G. Wyse

The Division on Dynamical Astronomy is delighted to announce the 2016 recipient of the Brouwer Award is Professor Rosemary F. G. Wyse of Johns Hopkins University.

Professor Wyse's work has played a fundamental role in advancing our understanding of the structure, dynamics, and formation history of the Milky Way and its satellites. Her work combines theory and observations. She has been a leading proponent of the view that since low mass stars live for a Hubble time, they can serve as a fossil record within our own Galaxy of the conditions in the early lives of galaxies, thereby complementing high-redshift studies. She was one of the major early advocates of wide-field multi-object spectroscopic surveys of stars in the Milky Way and other galaxies and is one of the leaders of RAVE (RAdial Velocity Experiment.)

Professor Wyse developed the first model that formed a thick disk as a natural consequence of the dynamical evolution of disk galaxies and was among the first to recognize the importance of the properties of the Galactic thick disk in constraining the early evolution and merging history of the Milky Way. She has also made significant contributions to the study of dark-matter dominated dwarf spheroidal galaxies, in terms of both their dark-matter content and their stellar populations.

In addition to her wide reaching and influential research, she has been an extraordinary mentor and role model. Finally, Wyse is recognized by this award for her service to the astronomy community which includes the presidency of the Aspen Center for Physics (2010-2013) and of IAU Commission 33, vice-presidency of IAU Division VII, and memberships in the AURA Observatories Council, AAS Publication Board, and the Board of Reviewing Editors of Science Magazine.