You are here

Brouwer Award Nominations

More about the Brouwer Award

Nominations are invited for next year's Dirk Brouwer Award of the Division on Dynamical Astronomy. Each year since 1976 the DDA has honored the achievements of a major contributor to the field of dynamical astronomy, recognizing the awardee with an honorarium, a certificate, and presentation of an award lecture. Recent recipients include Lia Athanassoula, Jerry Sellwood, Joe Burns, Doug Lin, Sylvio Ferraz Mello, and Rosemary Wyse.

The Brouwer Award was established to recognize outstanding contributions to the field of Dynamical Astronomy, including celestial mechanics, astrometry, geophysics, stellar systems, galactic and extra galactic dynamics. The Selection Committee seeks nominees of any gender, nationality, occupation, field of interest, and scientific and technical contributions. Candiates should have obtained a PhD degree more than 10 years prior to the date of nomination. The main criteria, which are not necessarily weighted equally, are (a) excellence in scientific research; (b) impact and influence in the field; (c) excellence in teaching and training of students; (d) outstanding advancement and other support of the field through administration, public service or engineering achievement.

To be considered, a complete nomination must be submitted by February 15, 2019.

A candidate's documentation must include the curriculum vitae (listing the name of the candidate's PhD Thesis advisor and postdoc mentors and names of PhD students advised and postdocs mentored by the candidate in the past 10 years).

  • a list of publications of the nominee, and
  • at least three letters of recommendation (at least one of which must be written by a member of the AAS or DDA), by experts in the field of the nominee, attesting to the long term impact and influence of the nominee's various contributions to the field of dynamical astronomy.

Submit a Nomination for the Brouwer Award

If you have questions about the nomination process, please contact the DDA Secretary.

Note on self-nominations: Following the practice recently adopted by the AAS for all prize we now accept self-nominations. We intend that the prize selection committee will be "blind" regarding whether a candidate was nominated by someone else or was self-nominated. Accordingly, all three letters of support must say something like "I am writing to support the nomination of [candidate's name]" rather than "I am writing to nominate [candidate's name]." Any letter of support that suggests that the author is directly "nominating" the candidate rather than "supporting the nomination of" the candidate will be returned for a rewrite. Nominations will remain active for a period of three years.



last updated: Oct 2, 2017, 3:49pm ET