You are here

2013 DDA Meeting - Paraty, Brazil

The 2013 Meeting of the Division on Dynamical Astronomy will be held from 5 to 9 May 2013 in Paraty, Brazil

The annual DDA Meeting brings together top researchers in astronomy, astrophysics, planetary science, and astrodynamics for in-depth and stimulating discussions and talks on all aspects of dynamics in the space sciences. The DDA meeting features invited talks on a range of topics, contributed talks (with no parallel sessions), and posters that can be displayed throughout the entire meeting.


Meeting Website in Brazil

First Announcement Letter
[PDF Poster]

Second Announcement Letter (includes detailed schedule)

Third Announcement Letter (includes transportation info)


Observatorio Nacional

Press Contact:

Rick Fienberg

Visa Issues- Read Carefully!


Student Stipend Deadlines
Non-South-American Students: Friday, February 1, 2013 (Winners)
South American Students: Friday, March 1, 2013 (Winners)
A limited number of stipends for South American students will be provided by the LOC, also on a competitive basis. Please, contact the LOC chairs for further information.

Abstracts: Friday, February 15, 2013
Late Abstracts (posters only): Wednesday, March 27, 2013 9 PM ET

To give a presentation at the Paraty meeting, you must submit an abstract (300 word limit) through this abstract form.
You may present two papers as long as one is oral and the other is a poster.
Posters must be less than 35 inches (0.9 m) width x 48 inches (1.2 m) height

Early Online Registration: Wednesday, February 20, 2013 (9:00 pm UT)
Online Registration: Wednesday, March 27, 2013
Early registration is now open.
Participants must fill and submit the on-line Registration Form available at:

Registration Rates
Member Type Early Regular On-Site
DDA Members $300 $350 $400
Students and Emeritus members $200 $200 $300
Non-Members $350 $400 $450

These fees include welcome reception, participant's material, abstract book, coffee breaks and transport between Rio and Paraty (ONLY at the fixed schedules provided by the organizers, as described here.

Accompanying Person: $50 per person
Banquet (optional): $50 per person

Cancellation Requests:
In view of the budget cuts suffered by government agencies due to sequestration in the US, we urge participants that might be affected by this to inform if they will be able to attend the DDA meeting. If this is your case, please contact the LOC as soon as possible.

Hotel Registration: Wednesday, March 27, 2013
The organizers have made block reservations at two hotels in Paraty. Both hotels are located at walking distance from the House of Culture. The reservations in these hotels are managed through the meeting Secretariat.

Participants must fill and send (only by fax) the Hotel Reservation Form available at:

Hotels charge 2 nights upon reservation, not refundable in case of no-show. Check the specific cancelation policies with the meeting Secretariat.

The organizers may also offer reservations at a hotel in Rio de Janeiro for those participants who wish to stay before/after the meeting. Please, contact the meeting Secretariat for further information. Participants hosted at this hotel in Rio will have free transportation to/from Paraty on Sunday/Thursday.

Send the shuttle form with their arrival/departure information before March 27. The LOC depends on this information to arrange the shuttle services from Rio de Janeiro Airport that best suits most participants. If you will arrive through São Paulo Airport, please contact the LOC for further assistance on how to get to Paraty.

Meeting Schedule

With Titles; Abstracts

Sunday, May 5:

  • 16:00-18:00 - Registration / Meeting of DDA Committee
  • 18:00-20:00 - Welcome reception

Monday, May 6:

  • 08:00-10:05 - Exoplanets I (Chair: Ferraz Mello)
  • 10:05-10:35 - Coffee break
  • 10:35-11:15 - Exoplanets II (Chair: Walsh)
  • 11:35-12:15 - Asteroids I (Chair: Walsh)
  • 12:15-14:00 - Lunch
  • 14:00-15:20 - Asteroids II (Chair: Brozovic)
  • 15:20-16:20 - Stars (Chair: Hamilton)
  • 16:40-17:40 - Brouwer Prize lecture
  • 17:00-19:00 - Business meeting of DDA
  • 19:00-20:00 - Brouwer Prize Reception

Tuesday, May 7:

  • 09:00-10:00 - Comets and TNOs I (Chair: Kretke)
  • 10:00-10:30 - Coffee break
  • 10:30-12:15 - Comets and TNOs II (Chair: Tiscareno)
  • 12:10-15:00 - Lunch (optional boat trip with light lunch)
  • 15:00-15:40 - Comets and TNOs III (Chair: Kretke)
  • 15:40-16:40 - Rotation (Chair: Tamayo)
  • 16:40-18:40 - Coffee and Poster Session

Wednesday, May 8:

  • 08:00-09:40 - Planet and Satellite Formation I (Chair: Minton)
  • 09:40-10:10 - Coffee break
  • 10:10-11:50 - Planet and Satellite Formation II (Chair: Noyelles)
  • 11:50-14:00 - Lunch
  • 14:00-14:40 - Planet and Satellite Formation III (Chair: Cuk)
  • 14:40-16:25 - Orbits and Chaos I (Chair: Chesley)
  • 16:30-18:30 - Coffee and Poster Session
  • 19:00-21:30 - Banquet (Restaurant Margarida)

Thursday, May 9:

  • 09:00-09:40 - Orbits and Chaos II (Chair: Jacobson)
  • 09:40-10:00 - Rings and Satellites I (Chair: Giuliatti-Winter)
  • 10:00-10:40 - Rings and Satellites I (Chair: Giuliatti-Winter)
  • 10:40-11:10 - Coffee break
  • 11:10-11:30 - Closing

Invited Speakers

Jerry Sellwood (Rutgers University) (Brouwer Award Talk)
The Spiral Structure of Galaxies

Cristián Beaugé (Universidad Nacional de Cordoba, Argentina)
Distribution and Origin of Hot Planets

David Nesvorny (Southwest Research Institute, USA)
Transit Timing Variations of Exoplanets

Julio A. Fernández (Universidad de la República, Uruguay)
Where is the Oort Cloud Located?

Pablo M. Cincotta (Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Argentina)
A Link Between Heuristic and Formal Theories of Chaotic Diffusion

Patryk S. Lykawka (Kinki University, Japan)
Trans-Neptunian Objects as Natural Probes to the Unknown Solar System

Tatiana A. Michtchenko (IAG/USP, Brazil)
A Record of Migration in the Exoplanet Configurations

Local Organizing Committee

Daniela Lazzaro - ON (Rio de Janeiro, RJ) Co-chair
Fernando V. Roig - ON (Rio de Janeiro, RJ) Co-chair
Antonio F. Bertachini de A. Prado - INPE (São José dos Campos, SP)
Gastão B. Lima Neto - IAG/USP (São Paulo, SP)
Tadashi Yokoyama - UNESP (Rio Claro, SP)
Teresinha de J. Stuchi - IF/UFRJ (Rio de Janeiro, RJ)
Valerio Carruba - UNESP (Guaratinguetá, SP)
William Newman - UCLA

Program Committee

Matija Cuk (SETI Institute) Co-Chair
Sylvio Ferraz Mello, IAG/USP (São Paulo, SP) Co-Chair
Alice Monet, US Naval Observatory (retired)


Meta Marketing e Eventos: Email
Phone: +55 21 2220 2097
Fax: +55 21 2220 2305